Minnesota Sick and Safe Time Law
A new sick and safe time law will go into effect on January 1, 2024, impacting Minnesota employers. The Minnesota sick and safe time law requires employers to provide paid leave to eligible employees who work in the state. To qualify for paid leave, employees must work at least 80 hours in a year for an employer in Minnesota. They cannot be independent contractors, but temporary and part-time employees do qualify.
The rate at which employees accrue time is one hour for every 30 hours worked. They can earn a maximum of 48 hours per year unless the employer chooses to offer additional time.
For more information about the law, check out the full breakdown.
Understanding the law and its tracking requirements are vital for employers throughout the state of Minnesota. WorkforceHub can help your organization simplify the tracking process while maintaining compliance with the changing regulations. Learn more about this platform and how it can support your company in navigating this change.
Simplify HR management today.
In our latest series, we covered a range of reasons to invest in company culture and how a toxic culture can impact the workforce. But as a small business owner, you may be wondering, does this apply? The answer is a resounding yes! In fact, company culture is equally important, if not more so, among…Read More
As a business owner, it’s important that you guide your organization toward the future you envision. Part of that process includes establishing a mission statement, which we covered in a previous post. Additionally, you need to determine the vision you have for the organization and assess how it will move toward achievement. In this guide…Read More